Kunstsammlungen am Theaterplatz
28. Mar 2021 – 27. Jun 2021

Soulages

Pierre Soulages (*1919), Peinture, 163 x 181 cm, 17 Décembre 2004, 2004, LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Westfälisches Landesmuseum, Münster, Foto:  LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Westfälisches Landesmuseum, Münster / Hanna Neander © © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2020

Soulages
Malerei 1946-2019

The internationally renowned French painter Pierre Soulages is considered one of the most important artists of post-war modernism and the 20th century. He belongs to the generation of artists who saw in Art Informel with its gestural and abstract tendencies the perfection of modern art and of modern man. He thought of abstraction not as pure spiritualisation, but as the liberation of art and as a chance for viewers to face up to the artistic and aesthetic presence alone.

Since the late 1970s, Pierre Soulages has concentrated on using an extremely dense, opaque layer of black paint on canvas. He adopted this technique because of his interest in how ambient light plays off the modulated pigment, and how we as viewers perceive changing light and colour. Soulages is thus considered a painter of light, as light refracts in ever-changing ways when it strikes the varied textures of the painting surfaces. Soulages is featured in the exhibition as an outstanding representative of 20th century Classical Modernism and post-1945 Abstract Expressionism, as well as one of the most prolific contemporary painters. The exhibition leads visitors, via a broad overview, from the 1940s to the artist’s most recent period, since one of the show’s objectives, besides honouring the complete works of Pierre Soulages, is to highlight his significance for contemporary art.

On the occasion of Soulages’ 100th birthday, in 2020 the Louvre in Paris granted him a large exhibition in the Salon Carré – a rare honour reserved only for the most important artists. Now, Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz in cooperation with Museum Frieder Burda is showing Europe’s second major museum exhibition in honour of his birthday. The exhibition was curated by Alfred Pacquement and Udo Kittelmann and prepared in close cooperation with the artist and Musée Soulages in Rodez. The exhibition is sponsored by the Ostdeutsche Sparkassenstiftung along with Sparkasse Chemnitz and the Rudolf-August Oetker-Stiftung.

Gallery

Pierre Soulages (*1919), Peinture, 163 x 181 cm, 17 Décembre 2004, 2004, LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Westfälisches Landesmuseum, Münster, Foto:  LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Westfälisches Landesmuseum, Münster / Hanna Neander © © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2020
Pierre Soulages (*1919)
Peinture, 163 x 181 cm, 17 Décembre 2004, 2004
Portrait of Pierre Soulages in his studio, 2017, photograph, Raphaël Gaillarde Collection, Paris © © RMN – Grand Palais, Paris 2020

Portrait of Pierre Soulages in his studio, 2017

Dates Soulages

more events

Kunstsammlungen am Theaterplatz
28. Mrz 2021 – 27. Jun 2021

Soulages

Pierre Soulages (*1919), Peinture, 163 x 181 cm, 17 Décembre 2004, 2004, LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Westfälisches Landesmuseum, Münster, Foto:  LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Westfälisches Landesmuseum, Münster / Hanna Neander © © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2020

Soulages
Malerei 1946-2019

Der international renommierte französische Maler Pierre Soulages zählt zu den bedeutendsten Künstlern der Nachkriegsmoderne und des 20. Jahrhunderts. Er gehört der Generation der Künstler:innen an, die im Informel, dem Gestischen und der Abstraktion die Vollendung der modernen Kunst und des modernen Menschen sahen. Hier wird Abstraktion nicht als reine Vergeistigung gedacht, sondern als Befreiung der Kunst und Angebot an die Betrachter:innen, sich allein der künstlerischen und ästhetischen Gegenwart zu stellen.

Pierre Soulages konzentriert sich seit den späten 1970er Jahren auf eine hoch verdichtete und opak aufgetragene schwarze Farbschicht auf der Leinwand. Ihn interessiert dabei, wie sich in der modulierten Farbe das Umgebungslicht bricht, und wie wir als Betrachter:innen das Licht und die Farbe im Wandel wahrnehmen. Deswegen gilt Soulages als Maler des Lichts, da sich dieses auf immer neue Art und Weise auf den unterschiedlichen Texturen der Bildoberflächen bricht. In der Ausstellung wird Soulages als herausragender Vertreter der Klassischen Moderne des 20. Jahrhunderts und des Abstrakten Expressionismus nach 1945 gezeigt, der nach wie vor einer der produktivsten Maler der Gegenwart ist. Die Ausstellung führt in einem großen Überblick von den 1940er Jahren in die jüngste Zeit, da ein Ziel der Ausstellung ist, neben der Würdigung seines Gesamtwerks auch seine Bedeutung für die Gegenwartskunst darzustellen.

Aus Anlass seines 100. Geburtstags gewährte der Pariser Louvre dem Künstler 2019 eine große Ausstellung im Salon Carré – eine seltene und nur den wichtigsten Künstler:innen vorbehaltene Ehre. Nun zeigen die Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz in Kooperation mit dem Museum Frieder Burda die zweite große Museumsausstellung in Europa anlässlich seines Geburtstages. Sie wurde kuratiert von Alfred Pacquement und Udo Kittelmann und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Künstler und dem Musée Soulages in Rodez vorbereitet.

Galerie

Pierre Soulages (*1919), Peinture, 163 x 181 cm, 17 Décembre 2004, 2004, LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Westfälisches Landesmuseum, Münster, Foto:  LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Westfälisches Landesmuseum, Münster / Hanna Neander © © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2020
Pierre Soulages (*1919)
Peinture, 163 x 181 cm, 17 Décembre 2004, 2004
Portrait of Pierre Soulages in his studio, 2017, photograph, Raphaël Gaillarde Collection, Paris © © RMN – Grand Palais, Paris 2020

Portrait of Pierre Soulages in his studio, 2017