Collection Textile and Decorative Arts

William Morris (1834–1896), Strawberry Thief (Erdbeerdieb), 1883, Baumwolle, Modeldruck, 66,5 x 49,5 cm, Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz, Foto: Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz/Antje Neumann-Golle

Otto Eckmann (1865–1902)

Pfeilerbehang »Fünf Schwäne«, 1897 / Column curtain »Five Swans», 1897

The column curtain »Five Swans« by Otto Eckmann is one of the most famous textile works of Art Nouveau. Already much admired at that time and printed in numerous art magazines, the Chemnitzer Kunstgewerbeverein acquired a copy during the Paris World Exhibition in 1900 directly from the Scherrebek School of Arts and Crafts for 250 marks. The blue-white-red woven stamp in the lower left corner symbolizes the Schleswig-Holstein flag and served the Scherrebek School of Arts and Crafts as protection against illegal imitation. Only licensed weavers were allowed to use the woven mark. The wool came from their own sheep breeding, was spun by themselves and dyed with vegetable dyes. In addition to Otto Eckmann, Hans Christiansen, Heinrich Vogeler, Walter Leistikow, and Henry van de Velde provided designs for the art weaving school. The Chemnitz »Swan Carpet« was first presented in September 1900 in the exhibition rooms of the model collection opened on November 15, 1898 in Waisenstraße 2 (corner house Königstraße).

 

William Morris (1834–1896)

»Strawberry Thief« (Erdbeerdieb), 1883

Morris & Co., Merton Abbey, Surrey

The printed fabric »Strawberry Thief« is one of the commercially most successful and popular motifs by William Morris. It is a time-consuming and costly indigo etching technique. The cotton fabric was first dyed completely blue in an indigo bath and then printed with a bleaching etching solution in the first printing pass, leaving the pattern white or light blue. Natural colors and wood models were used for the subsequent printing processes. For this purpose, the areas to be printed were provided with a stain which served to absorb the ink. The light green was created by overprinting yellow on light blue and the orange by overprinting red and yellow. The excess color of the unstained areas was finally washed out in a hot soap bath. The entire process was manual and was carried out at Merton Abbey. In addition, the fabrics were spread out on the meadows and exposed to sunlight for bleaching.

 

Carl Otto Czeschka (1878–1960)

Druckstoff »Waldidyll«, 1910/11 / Print fabric »Forest Idyll«, 1910/11

The Austrian painter and graphic artist Carl Otto Czeschka was one of the most important designers of the Wiener Werkstätte. He participated in the Gesamtkunstwerk Palais Stoclet in Brussels and supplied a total of fourteen patterns for the fabric department of the Wiener Werkstätte. He designed this printed fabric with the melodious name »Forest idyll« in 1910/11, when he was already working at the School of Arts and Crafts in Hamburg.
The motif was printed on silk or linen and used as a decoration and clothing fabric. A historical photograph from 1916 shows Gustav Klimt wearing a robe made of this fabric on the occasion of an artists’ festival in the Primavesi house, which was also used for one of the guest rooms in the house. The fabric was acquired in 1913 for the Chemnitz collection.

 

Maria May (1900–1968)

Spritzstoff »Paris«, 1930 / Spray-on fabric »Paris«, 1930

From 1921 to 1931 Maria May headed the textile class at the Reimann School in Berlin, one of the largest private schools for art and applied arts in Germany. Her spray-on decorative fabrics, the so-called May fabrics, were particularly popular. The motifs were sprayed onto the textile fabric using stencils. The design of this fabric was created during a study stay in Paris and shows the typical tourist motifs of the city. May also experimented in cooperation with the IG-Farben-Industrie. She later moved to Hamburg, where she headed the master school for fashion.

 

Mariano Fortuny (1871–1949)

Druckstoff, ca. 1930 / Print fabric, ca. 1930

Societá Anonima Fortuny, Guidecca

The fabrics of Mariano Fortuny are characterized by perfect craftsmanship. Before the actual printing process, they usually went through a multi-part dyeing process using natural colors and also bronze and aluminium powder. This printing fabric decorated the walls of the gaming room in the Hotel Excelsior at the Lido. The hotel was mentioned by Thomas Mann in the novella »Death in Venice« and gained fame at the Venice International Film Festival.

Mariano Fortuny loved historical fabrics, especially Renaissance fabrics, which inspired him.

 

Benita Koch-Otte (1892–1976)

Behang, 1922/1924 / Tapestry, 1922/1924

Staatliches Bauhaus Weimar

Benita Koch-Otte executed the tapestry at the Weimar Bauhaus. By partially dyeing the warp threads, interesting color gradations of the extremely refined pattern were created. Koch-Otte was inspired by Paul Klee and did not create a narrative tapestry, but a two-dimensional, constructive composition. Together with Gunta Stölzl, she attended a dyeing course in 1922 and a so-called manufacturer’s course in Krefeld in 1924. In addition to calculation and patronage, the focus was on the theory of weaving, an essential prerequisite for the implementation and understanding of textile techniques.

Sammlung Textil und Kunstgewerbe

William Morris (1834–1896), Strawberry Thief (Erdbeerdieb), 1883, Baumwolle, Modeldruck, 66,5 x 49,5 cm, Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz, Foto: Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz/Antje Neumann-Golle

Otto Eckmann (1865–1902)

Pfeilerbehang »Fünf Schwäne«, 1897

Der Pfeilerbehang »Fünf Schwäne« von Otto Eckmann zählt zu den bekanntesten textilen Werken des Jugendstils. Schon damals viel bewundert und in zahlreichen Kunstzeitschriften abgedruckt, erwarb der Chemnitzer Kunstgewerbeverein ein Exemplar während der Pariser Weltausstellung im Jahr 1900 direkt von der Kunstwebschule Scherrebek für 250 Mark. Die blau-weiß-rote Webmarke in der linken unteren Ecke symbolisiert die schleswig-holsteinische Fahne und diente der Kunstwebschule Scherrebek als Schutz vor illegaler Nachahmung. Nur lizensierte Weberinnen durften das Webzeichen verwenden. Die Wolle stammte aus eigener Schafzucht, wurde selbst gesponnen und mit Pflanzenfarben eingefärbt. Neben Otto Eckmann lieferten Hans Christiansen, Heinrich Vogeler, Walter Leistikow und Henry van de Velde Entwürfe für die Kunstwebschule. Der Chemnitzer »Schwanenteppich« wurde erstmals im September 1900 in den Ausstellungsräumen der am 15. November 1898 eröffneten Vorbildersammlung in der Waisenstrasse 2 (Eckhaus Königstrasse) präsentiert.

 

William Morris (1834–1896)

»Strawberry Thief« (Erdbeerdieb), 1883

Morris & Co., Merton Abbey, Surrey

Der Druckstoff »Strawberry Thief« (Erdbeerdieb) gehört zu den kommerziell erfolgreichsten und beliebtesten Motiven von William Morris. Zeitintensiv in der Herstellung handelt es sich um ein aufwendiges Indigo-Ätzverfahren. Das Baumwollgewebe wurde zunächst im Indigobad vollständig blau eingefärbt und im ersten Druckgang mit einer bleichenden Ätzlösung bedruckt, wodurch das Muster Weiß bzw. Hellblau stehen blieb. Für die anschließenden Druckgänge wurden Naturfarben und Holzmodeln verwendet. Hierzu wurden die zu bedruckenden Partien mit einer Beize versehen, die zur Aufnahme der Farbe diente. Das Hellgrün entstand durch Überdruck von Gelb auf Hellblau und das Orange durch Überdruck von Rot und Gelb. Die überschüssige Farbe der ungebeizten Flächen wurde schließlich im heißen Seifenbad ausgewaschen. Das gesamte Verfahren war manuell und erfolgte in Merton Abbey. Zusätzlich wurden die Stoffbahnen auf den Wiesen ausgebreitet und zum Bleichen dem Sonnenlicht ausgesetzt.

 

Carl Otto Czeschka (1878–1960)   

Druckstoff »Waldidyll«, 1910/11

Der österreichische Maler und Grafiker Carl Otto Czeschka war einer der wichtigsten Gestalter der Wiener Werkstätte. Er beteiligte sich am Gesamtkunstwerk Palais Stoclet in Brüssel und lieferte insgesamt vierzehn Muster für die Stoffabteilung der Wiener Werkstätte. Diesen Druckstoff mit dem wohlklingenden Namen »Waldidyll« entwarf er 1910/11, als er bereits an der Kunstgewerbeschule in Hamburg tätig war.

Das Motiv wurde auf Seide oder Leinen gedruckt und als Dekorations- und Kleidungsstoff verwendet. Eine historische Fotografie aus dem Jahr 1916 zeigt Gustav Klimt anlässlich eines Künstlerfestes im Hause Primavesi in einem Gewand aus diesem Stoff, der ebenfalls für eines der Gästezimmer im Haus Verwendung fand. Der Stoff wurde 1913 für die Chemnitzer Sammlung erworben.

 

Maria May (1900–1968)

Spritzstoff »Paris«, 1930

Maria May leitete von 1921 bis 1931 die Textilklasse der Schule Reimann in Berlin, eine der größten Privatschulen für Kunst und Kunstgewerbe in Deutschland. Besonders beliebt waren ihre Spritzdekorstoffe, die so genannten May-Stoffe. Die Motive wurden mithilfe von Schablonen auf das textile Gewebe gesprüht. Der Entwurf dieses Stoffes entstand während eines Studienaufenthalts in Paris und zeigt die typischen touristischen Motive der Stadt. May experimentierte ebenfalls in Zusammenarbeit mit der IG-Farben-Industrie. Sie siedelte später nach Hamburg über, wo sie die Meisterschule für Mode leitete.

 

Mariano Fortuny (1871–1949)

Druckstoff, ca. 1930

Die Stoffe von Mariano Fortuny zeichnen sich durch handwerkliche Perfektion aus. Sie durchliefen vor dem eigentlichen Druckvorgang meist einen mehrteiligen Färbeprozess unter Verwendung von Naturfarben und auch Bronze- und Aluminiumpulver. Dieser Druckstoff dekorierte die Wände des Spielsalons im Hotel Excelsior am Lido. Das Hotel wurde von Thomas Mann in der Novelle »Tod in Venedig« erwähnt und erlangte durch die Internationalen Filmfestspiele von Venedig Berühmtheit. Mariano Fortuny liebte historische Stoffe, allen voran die Stoffe der Renaissance, von denen er sich inspirieren ließ.

 

Benita Koch-Otte (1892–1976)        
Behang, 1922/1924

Staatliches Bauhaus Weimar
Benita Koch-Otte führte den Wandbehang am Weimarer Bauhaus aus. Durch partielles Färben der Kettfäden entstanden interessante Farbabstufungen des überaus raffinierten Musters. Koch-Otte ließ sich von Paul Klee inspirieren und schuf keinen erzählenden Wandbehang, sondern eine flächig-konstruktive Komposition. Zusammen mit Gunta Stölzl belegte sie 1922 einen Färbereikurs und 1924 einen so genannten Fabrikantenkurs in Krefeld. Neben Kalkulation und Patronieren stand vor allem die Bindungslehre im Blickpunkt, eine für das Umsetzen und Verstehen textiler Techniken wesentliche Voraussetzung.