Öffentlicher Raum Stadt Chemnitz
15. Aug 2020 – 25. Oct 2020

Gegenwarten | Presences

Gegenwarten | Presences
Kunst Stadt Chemnitz

For the first time, Chemnitz will be the scene of an international public art project in summer 2020. Twenty renowned artists and collectives are invited to engage with the city, its history and society, and to develop site-specific works – interventions and sculp-tures, installations and performances – in public spaces.

Based on the observation that there are many presences – whose different perspectives and themes are negotiated in private spaces, such as the family or circle of friends, but above all also in public spaces – the exhibition project deals with the specific social, political, and urban issues of the City of Chemnitz.

Art in public spaces can contribute towards finding hidden qualities, showing commonalities, linking these synergistically and thus tell both forgotten and new identities and stories. Furthermore, art is particularly capable of making these visible and tangible and of showing a city’s inhabitants alternative presences.

The exhibition project is curated by Florian Matzner and Sarah Sigmund and organised by the Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz. It is an important contribution to the application for the title of European Capital of Culture 2025.

Participating Artists and Collectives

atelier le balto, Nadja Buttendorf, Anetta Mona Chişa & Lucia Tkáčová, Else Gabriel, Shilpa Gupta, Patricia Kaersenhout, Klub Solitaer e. V., Mischa Kuball, Philip Metz, Henrike Naumann, Olaf Nicolai, Observatorium, Ooze Architects & Marjetica Potrč, Lydia Ourahmane, Peng! Collective, Roman Signer, Weltecho, Anna Witt, Tobias Zielony, ZONA D (Eliza Goldox & Sandy Becker, together with: Tita Salina & Irwan Ahmett, Franziska Gerth, Rodrigo Andreolli & Gian Spina, Trakal, Samuel Georgy, Areej Huniti, Anna Zett, Ki Hyun Park, Noor Abed, Felipe Steinberg, Beatrice Schuett Moumdjian, Jafar Al Jabi, Julia Kiehlmann, Yvonne Buchheim, Omnia Sabry)

 

Veranstaltet durch
Logo Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz      

 

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation
Logo Kulturstiftung des Bundes

 

Individual project funding by
     

 

Directions

Gallery

atelier le balto, Neun neue Gärten, Konzept und Planungsstudie, 2019 © Entwurf: atelier le balto, Landschaftsarchitekten
atelier le balto
Neun neue Gärten, Konzept und Planungsstudie, 2019
Gegenwarten | Presences: Stadtbegehung in Chemnitz mit den Künstler:innen, Juli 2019, Foto: Jenny Zichner
Gegenwarten | Presences: Stadtbegehung in Chemnitz mit den Künstler:innen, Juli 2019

Öffentlicher Raum Stadt Chemnitz
15. Aug 2020 – 25. Okt 2020

Gegenwarten | Presences

Gegenwarten | Presences
Kunst Stadt Chemnitz

Mit GEGENWARTEN | PRESENCES findet im Sommer 2020 ein Public Art-Projekt in Chemnitz statt. Gezeigt werden Projekte von 20 Künstler:innen und Kollektiven, die sich in ihren ortsspezifischen Arbeiten – Interventionen und Skulpturen, Installationen und Performances – mit Chemnitz, seiner Geschichte und Gesellschaft auseinandersetzen.

Ausgehend von der Beobachtung, dass es viele Gegenwarten gibt – deren verschiedene Perspektiven und Themen in privaten Räumen, aber vor allen Dingen auch im öffentlichen Raum verhandelt werden –, setzt sich das Ausstellungsprojekt mit den spezifischen gesellschaftlichen, politischen und urbanen Fragen der Stadt Chemnitz auseinander.

Kunst im öffentlichen Raum kann dazu beitragen, versteckte Qualitäten in einer Stadt zu entdecken, Gemeinsamkeiten aufzuzeigen, diese synergetisch zu verknüpfen und damit sowohl vergessene als auch neue Geschichten zu erzählen. Ganz besonders ist die Kunst darüber hinaus in der Lage, diese sichtbar und erlebbar zu machen und den Menschen einer Stadt alternative Gegenwarten aufzuzeigen.

Das Ausstellungsprojekt wird kuratiert von Florian Matzner und Sarah Sigmund und veranstaltet von den Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz. Es bildet eine wichtige Etappe in der Bewerbung als Kulturhauptstadt Europas 2025.

Am Projekt beteiligte Künstler:innen und Kollektive

atelier le balto, Nadja Buttendorf, Anetta Mona Chişa & Lucia Tkáčová, Else Gabriel, Shilpa Gupta, Patricia Kaersenhout, Klub Solitaer e. V., Mischa Kuball, Philip Metz, Henrike Naumann, Olaf Nicolai, Observatorium, Ooze Architects & Marjetica Potrč, Lydia Ourahmane, Peng! Collective, Roman Signer, Weltecho, Anna Witt, Tobias Zielony, ZONA D (Eliza Goldox & Sandy Becker, gemeinsam mit: Tita Salina & Irwan Ahmett, Franziska Gerth, Rodrigo Andreolli & Gian Spina, Trakal, Samuel Georgy, Areej Huniti, Anna Zett, Ki Hyun Park, Noor Abed, Felipe Steinberg, Beatrice Schuett Moumdjian, Jafar Al Jabi, Julia Kiehlmann, Yvonne Buchheim, Omnia Sabry)

 

Veranstaltet durch
Logo Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz      

 

Gefördert durch die
Logo Kulturstiftung des Bundes

 

Einzelprojektförderung durch
Logo Pro Helvetia   

Wegbeschreibung

Galerie

atelier le balto, Neun neue Gärten, Konzept und Planungsstudie, 2019 © Entwurf: atelier le balto, Landschaftsarchitekten
atelier le balto
Neun neue Gärten, Konzept und Planungsstudie, 2019
Gegenwarten | Presences: Stadtbegehung in Chemnitz mit den Künstler:innen, Juli 2019, Foto: Jenny Zichner
Gegenwarten | Presences: Stadtbegehung in Chemnitz mit den Künstler:innen, Juli 2019