Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz

The Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz house one of the largest and most important communal art collections in Germany. The institution developed out of various civic groups, such as the art association Kunsthütte zu Chemnitz, founded in 1860. In 1909 these were gathered under the roof of the King Albert Museum, and as of 1920 were administered as a municipal museum. Today, the Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz comprise a complex of different museums and institutions: the Kunstsammlungen am Theaterplatz, with the Carlfriedrich Claus Archive, the Museum Gunzenhauser, the Schloßbergmuseum, with Rabenstein Castle, and the Henry van de Velde Museum.

The Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz have gained high regional, national, and international renown thanks to their much-respected exhibition activities, with a particular emphasis on international modernism, their important theme-related as well as solo presentations, and also because of important work groups in their holdings.

In addition to the great respect garnered by the exhibition projects, the Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz have also received numerous awards for their special efforts in the field of museum education, for example with the Konrad the Art Bus project for schools. Among those awards are an inclusion in the Blue Book of nationally significant cultural institutions in 2001 and a membership in the Conference of National Cultural Institutions, the 2003 foundation award for the »best concept for lively museums and modern cultural institutions« presented by the Stiftung Lebendige Stadt Hamburg, or the 2010 Museum of the Year award by the German Section of the International Critics Association.

The Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz are an institution of the City of Chemnitz.

Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz

Die Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz gehören zu den größten und wichtigsten kommunalen Kunstsammlungen in Deutschland. Hervorgegangen sind die Kunstsammlungen aus verschiedenen bürgerlichen Vereinen, wie dem 1860 gegründeten Kunstverein Kunsthütte zu Chemnitz. Im Jahr 1909 wurden sie unter dem Dach des König-Albert-Museums zusammengefasst und ab 1920 als städtisches Museum geführt. Heute umfassen die Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz einen Komplex verschiedener Museen und Institutionen: die Kunstsammlungen am Theaterplatz mit dem Carlfriedrich Claus-Archiv, das Museum Gunzenhauser, das Schloßbergmuseum mit der Burg Rabenstein und das Henry van de Velde Museum.

Aufgrund einer regen und viel beachteten Ausstellungstätigkeit mit Schwerpunkten auf der internationalen Moderne sowie wichtigen Themen- und Einzelpräsentationen, und auch aufgrund bedeutender Sammlungskonvolute, erfreuen sich die Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz eines hohen regionalen, nationalen und internationalen Renommees.

Neben den Ausstellungsprojekten wurden die Kunstsammlungen auch aufgrund des besonderen Einsatzes für Bildung und Vermittlung, etwa in dem Projekt Konrad der Kunstbus für Schulklassen, mehrfach ausgezeichnet: unter anderem 2001 durch die Aufnahme in das Blaubuch national bedeutsamer Kultureinrichtungen und der Mitgliedschaft in der Konferenz Nationaler Kultureinrichtungen, 2003 durch den Preis für das »beste Konzept für lebendige Museen und moderne Kulturstätten« durch die Stiftung Lebendige Stadt Hamburg oder auch 2010 als »Museum des Jahres« durch die Deutsche Sektion des Internationalen Kritikerverbands.

Die Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz sind eine Einrichtung der Stadt Chemnitz.