Library and Archive

The art-history reference library, consisting of well in excess of 100,000 volumes, forms – along with the document, photo, and press archives – the Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz’s Documentation and Information Centre.

The library’s holdings focus on publications on 19th- and 20th-century German art, primarily Dresden Romanticism, outdoor painting, and Symbolism, as well as Impressionism and Expressionism, in particular Karl Schmidt-Rottluff and the »Brücke« artists’ group. The library also possesses extensive valuable art-history works related to the textile industry, textile art, and poster history, with a focus on Jugendstil and the 1920s. Moreover, the library has an extensive collection of postcards, printed invitations, and leaflets on national and international artists and art exhibitions.

The library’s collection is being continuously expanded through valuable donations, bequests, and the exchange of literature with art institutions in Germany and abroad.

The document archive comprises archival records of the Kunsthütte zu Chemnitz (since 1860) and the Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz (since 1906). The autograph collection (since 1901) comprises some 3,000 letters and postcards from artists such as Ernst Barlach, Max Beckmann, Erich Heckel, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Paul Klee, Max Klinger, Oskar Kokoschka, Georg Kolbe, Käthe Kollwitz, Wilhelm Lehmbruck, Otto Muller, Edvard Munch, Emil Nolde, Max Pechstein, Gustav Schaffer, Richard Scheibe, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, Martha Schrag, and Max Slevogt.

Since 1909 the photo archive has harboured photographs, glass plates, clichés-verre, negatives, standard slides, small-format slides, and digital prints largely relating to the holdings of the Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz.

The press archive has collected articles published in the press since 1911 on all exhibition activities of the Kunsthütte zu Chemnitz and the Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz, as well as articles on regional art and important topics in art history.

Interested individuals can make appointments to review the library and archive holdings from Tuesdays to Thursdays between 11:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. in the library reading room. Appointments can be made at bibliothek.kunstsammlungen@stadt-chemnitz.de or archiv.kunstsammlungen@stadt-chemnitz.de or at +49 (0)371 488 4468 (library) or +49 (0)371 488 4407 (archive).

Bibliothek und Archiv

Die kunstwissenschaftliche Präsenzbibliothek mit ihren weit mehr als 100.000 Bänden bildet gemeinsam mit dem Schriften-, Foto- und Pressearchiv das Dokumentations- und Informationszentrum der Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz.

Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte des Bestandes der Bibliothek sind Publikationen zur deutschen Kunst des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts, vorrangig zu Dresdner Romantik, Freilichtmalerei sowie Symbolismus, Impressionismus und Expressionismus, insbesondere zu Karl Schmidt-Rottluff und der Künstlergruppe »Brücke«. Weiterhin besitzt die Bibliothek umfangreiche, kunsthistorisch wertvolle Werke in den Bereichen Textilindustrie, Textilkunst und Plakatgeschichte mit dem Schwerpunkt Jugendstil und 1920er Jahre. Darüber hinaus verfügt die Bibliothek über eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Postkarten, Einladungskarten und Faltblättern zu nationalen und internationalen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern sowie zu Kunstausstellungen.

Der Bibliotheksbestand wird durch wertvolle Schenkungen, Nachlässe und den Schriftentausch mit Kunstinstitutionen im In- und Ausland kontinuierlich erweitert.

Das Schriftenarchiv beherbergt Archivalien der Kunsthütte zu Chemnitz (seit 1860) und der Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz (seit 1906). Die Autografensammlung (seit 1901) umfasst ca. 3.000 Briefe und Postkarten u. a. von Ernst Barlach, Max Beckmann, Erich Heckel, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Paul Klee, Max Klinger, Oskar Kokoschka, Georg Kolbe, Käthe Kollwitz, Wilhelm Lehmbruck, Otto Muller, Edvard Munch, Emil Nolde, Max Pechstein, Gustav Schaffer, Richard Scheibe, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, Martha Schrag und Max Slevogt.

Das Fotoarchiv bewahrt seit 1909 Fotos, Glasplatten, Klischees, Negative, Dias, KB-Dias und digitale Aufnahmen überwiegend zum Bestand der Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz.

Im Pressearchiv werden seit 1911 Pressebeiträge zur gesamten Ausstellungstätigkeit der Kunsthütte zu Chemnitz und der Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz sowie Beiträge zur regionalen Kunst und zu wichtigen Themen der Kunstgeschichte gesammelt.

Interessierte Personen können nach schriftlicher oder telefonischer Voranmeldung die Bestände der Bibliothek und der Archive dienstags bis donnerstags zwischen 11 Uhr und 17 Uhr im Lesesaal der Bibliothek einsehen. Die Anmeldung ist möglich unter bibliothek.kunstsammlungen@stadt-chemnitz.de oder archiv.kunstsammlungen@stadt-chemnitz.de bzw. unter +49 (0)371 488 4468 (Bibliothek) oder +49 (0)371 488 4407 (Archiv).