Provenance Research

From September 2019 until February 2022, the Graphic Arts Collection of the Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz will conduct the project, co-funded by the German Federal Government, related to materials confiscated by the Nazis: Provenance Research on Drawings, Prints and Books with Original Prints in the Graphic Arts Collection of Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz for the acquisition period 1933-1945. The German Lost Art Foundation (Deutsche Zentrum Kulturgutverluste) in Magdeburg is promoting this research throughout Germany on behalf of the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media. The basis for the centre’s work in this area are the Washington Principles, internationally adopted in 1998. In 1999 Germany committed itself to implementing this with the Joint Declaration of the German Federal Government, the German federal states and the leading municipal associations, in the spirit of its historical and moral commitment and towards locating and returning cultural assets confiscated in the course of Nazi persecution, especially those of Jewish ownership.

Project description

Friedrich Schreiber-Weigand, the first director of Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz, was granted leave of absence by the National Socialists a few months after they seized power. He was dismissed in October 1933. Schreiber-Weigand’s successor aligned the institution to National-Socialist ideology, removed the art that had been ostracised as “degenerate”, acquired art that conformed to the system instead, and filled the gaps with art from the German Romantic period. This art was, in turn, purchased on the art market, above all from dealers and auction houses, among them, C. G. Boerner (Leipzig), Gustav Gerstenberger (Chemnitz), Curt Naubert (Leipzig) und Dr W. A. Luz (Berlin), which are now known through the findings of the research done on goods stolen by the Nazis.

The aim of the project is to systematically investigate the acquisitions between 1933 and 1945. The focus is on the drawings, prints, and books with original prints acquired during this period and which are in the holdings of the Graphic Arts Collection. During the course of the work, the results of research on artworks proven lost due to persecution or cases in which such cause of loss cannot be ruled out, are to be made accessible to the public. In the event of unlawful acquisition, the lawful owners or their legal successors will be sought and efforts made to achieve a fair and equitable solution in accordance with the Washington Principles.

Contacts

Dr Frédéric Bußmann (project head), frederic.bussmann@stadt-chemnitz.de

Provenienzforschung

In der Grafischen Sammlung der Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz wird von September 2019 bis Februar 2022 das von der Bundesregierung mitfinanzierte NS-Raubgutprojekt Provenienzforschung zu Zeichnungen, Druckgrafiken und Büchern mit Originalgrafiken der Grafischen Sammlung der Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz im Erwerbungszeitraum 1933 bis 1945 durchgeführt. Das Deutsche Zentrum Kulturgutverluste in Magdeburg fördert diese Forschungen deutschlandweit im Auftrag der Bundesbeauftragten für Kultur und Medien. Grundlage für die Arbeit des Zentrums in diesem Bereich sind die 1998 international verabschiedeten Washingtoner Prinzipien, zu deren Umsetzung sich Deutschland im Sinne seiner historischen und moralischen Selbstverpflichtung mit der Gemeinsamen Erklärung der Bundesregierung, der Länder und der kommunalen Spitzenverbände zur Auffindung und zur Rückgabe NS-verfolgungsbedingt entzogenen Kulturgutes, insbesondere aus jüdischem Besitz, im Jahr 1999 bekannt hat.

Projektbeschreibung

Friedrich Schreiber-Weigand, der erste Direktor der Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz, wurde wenige Monate nach der Machtübernahme der Nationalsozialisten von diesen beurlaubt. Seine Entlassung erfolgte im Oktober 1933. Schreiber-Weigands Nachfolger richteten das Haus auf die Ideologie des Nationalsozialismus aus, entfernten die als »entartet« verfemte Kunst, erwarben dafür systemkonforme Kunst und füllten die Lücken mit deutscher Kunst der Romantik. Diese wiederum wurde auf dem Kunstmarkt, vor allem bei den in der NS- Raubgut-Forschung bekannten Händlern und Auktionshäusern, bezogen, u. a. bei C. G. Boerner (Leipzig), Gustav Gerstenberger (Chemnitz), Curt Naubert (Leipzig) und Dr. W. A. Luz (Berlin).

Ziel des Projektes ist die systematische Erforschung der Eingänge zwischen 1933 und 1945. Im Mittelpunkt stehen die in dem Zeitraum erworbenen Zeichnungen, Druckgrafiken und Bücher mit Originalgrafiken in den Beständen der Grafischen Sammlung. Im Zuge der Arbeit sollen die Rechercheergebnisse zu Kunstwerken, bei denen ein verfolgungsbedingter Entzug vorliegt oder nicht ausgeschlossen werden kann, der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht werden. Im Falle eines unrechtmäßigen Erwerbs wird nach den rechtmäßigen Eigentümern oder ihren Rechtsnachfolgern gesucht sowie eine faire und gerechte Lösung nach den Washingtoner Prinzipen angestrebt.

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Jennifer Chrost (Provenienzforscherin), jennifer.chrost@stadt-chemnitz.de

Dr. Frédéric Bußmann (Projektleitung), frederic.bussmann@stadt-chemnitz.de