Rabenstein Castle

Burg Rabenstein, Foto: Uwe Fiedler

Saxony’s Smallest Castle

Rabenstein Castle is located in the Rabenstein district of Chemnitz and forms part of the Schloßbergmuseum. It was built in the second half of the 12th century during the settlement of the foothills of the Erzgebirge mountains. The frequently used nickname »Saxony’s smallest castle« is somewhat misleading in that the buildings still standing today make up only the heart of a formerly much larger complex.

Visit the castle and its surroundings to discover traces of an eventful history spanning the centuries since the Middle Ages: The small knights’ hall located at the upper level of the palace and adorned with frescoes featuring hunting motifs attests to the castle’s redesign in the first half of the 17th century, the early Baroque period. One example of the Rococo period well worth seeing is the Rabensteiner Schloss palace above Rabenstein Castle; it has since been turned into a hotel. Chemnitz textile merchant Johann Georg Siegert acquired the castle and the property appertaining to it in 1774 and had Rabensteiner Schloss built as a new manor house. Siegert and his successor, notably Maximilian von Welck, were also responsible for reshaping the castle and its surroundings into a Romantic English-style park.

The City of Chemnitz acquired the complex with the incorporation of the village of Rabenstein in 1950. A museum was created in the castle in 1959, following extensive restoration work. In the 1980s and 1990s, the castle complex was subject to further comprehensive restoration measures. Along with a host of other attractions in the local area (including the Rabenstein water reservoir, the Wildgatter game reserve, and the Felsendome show-mine and restaurant), Rabenstein Castle is one of the most popular destinations for excursions in Chemnitz today.

Rabenstein Castle is usually open from 1 May through 31 October
(other times of the year upon request)

In addition to individual visits, guided tours and special events (such as project days for schools) can be booked. A notable tradition at Rabenstein Castle is the annual event called »Ostern im Mittelalter« (»Easter in Medieval Times«) which takes place each year on Easter weekend.

 

Visitor Informationen

Adress and Contact

Oberfrohnaer Straße 149, 09117 Chemnitz
T +49 (0)371 488 4520, F +49 (0)371 488 4599
schlossbergmuseum@stadt-chemnitz.de

 

Opening Hours

The Rabenstein castle remains closed until further notice.

 

Admission

General admission 3 Euros, reduced admission 2 Euros
On the first Friday of every month, admission is free of charge for all visitors.
For children and adolescents through age 17, as well as for students of the Technical University Chemnitz, holders of Chemnitzpass, and chaperones to severely handicapped persons, admission is always free.
For further information regarding individual and group admission fees and combination tickets valid for more than one of the museums within Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz, please see the schedule of fees (Entgeltordnung).

Gallery

Burg Rabenstein, Foto: Uwe Fiedler
Burg Rabenstein

Burg Rabenstein

Burg Rabenstein, Foto: Uwe Fiedler

Die kleinste Burg Sachsens

Zum Schloßbergmuseum gehört die im Chemnitzer Stadtteil Rabenstein gelegene Burg Rabenstein. Sie entstand in der zweiten Hälfte des 12. Jahrhunderts im Zuge der Besiedelung des Erzgebirgsvorlandes. Der gern gebrauchte Beiname »kleinste Burg Sachsens« ist insofern etwas irreführend, weil es sich bei den heute noch existierenden Gebäuden nur um die Kernsubstanz einer ehemals größeren Anlage handelt.

In der Burg und ihrer Umgebung sind Spuren wechselvoller Geschichte aus den Jahrhunderten seit dem Mittelalter zu entdecken: Von der Umgestaltung der Anlage in der ersten Hälfte des 17. Jahrhunderts, dem frühen Barock, zeugt der kleine Rittersaal im Obergeschoss des Palas, in dem Fresken mit Jagdmotiven erhalten sind. Ein sehenswertes Zeugnis des Rokoko ist das oberhalb der Burg befindliche Rabensteiner Schloss (heute Hotel). Der Chemnitzer Textilkaufmann Johann Georg Siegert, der die Burg und den dazugehörigen Grundbesitz 1774 erwarb, hatte es als neues Herrenhaus errichten lassen. Auf Siegert und dessen Nachfolger, besonders Maximilian von Welck, geht auch die Umgestaltung der Burg und ihres Umfeldes im Sinne einer romantischen Parkanlage nach englischem Vorbild zurück.

Im Jahr 1950, mit der Eingemeindung des Ortes Rabenstein, ging die Anlage in den Besitz der Stadt Chemnitz über. Nach umfangreichen Wiederherstellungsarbeiten wurde 1959 in der Burg ein Museum eingerichtet. Weitere umfassende Restaurierungsmaßnahmen erfolgten in den 1980er und 1990er Jahren. Gemeinsam mit einer Vielzahl weiterer Anziehungspunkte in der Umgebung (unter anderem Stausee, Wildgatter und Felsendome) gehört die Burg Rabenstein heute zu den beliebtesten Ausflugszielen in Chemnitz.

Burg Rabenstein ist vom 1. Mai bis zum 31. Oktober geöffnet
(außerhalb dieser Zeit auf Anfrage).

Neben eigenständigen Besichtigungen können Führungen und spezielle Veranstaltungen (wie Projekttage für Schulen) gebucht werden. Zu einer besonderen Tradition ist das Mittelalterfest geworden, das unter dem Titel »Ostern im Mittelalter« jährlich am Osterwochenende auf Burg Rabenstein stattfindet.

 

Besucherinformationen

Adresse und Kontakt

Oberfrohnaer Straße 149, 09117 Chemnitz
T +49 (0)371 488 4520, F +49 (0)371 488 4599
schlossbergmuseum@stadt-chemnitz.de

 

Öffnungszeiten

1. Mai–31. Oktober
Di–So 10–17 Uhr

 

Eintrittspreise

Eintritt 3 Euro, ermäßigt 2 Euro
Am 1. Freitag im Monat freier Eintritt für alle.
Für Kinder und Jugendliche bis zur Vollendung des 18. Lebensjahres sowie für Schüler:innen, Studierende der TU Chemnitz, Chemnitzpass-Inhaber:innen und Betreuer:innen von Schwerbehinderten ist der Eintritt ins Museum immer kostenfrei.
Weitere Informationen zu Eintrittspreisen, Ermäßigungen, Gruppentarifen und Kombitickets für mehrere Museen der Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz entnehmen Sie bitte der Entgeltordnung.

Galerie

Burg Rabenstein, Foto: Uwe Fiedler
Burg Rabenstein